• Email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS Feed
  • Recent posts:

  • New album now on iTunes, Amazon, Spotify and more!
  • Get the new album The Future Limited on iTunes, Amazon, Bandcamp, Spotify and more!

    (Download the press release.)

    March 6, 2012—The second album from San Francisco indie pop artist Jascha (ya-sha) ventures onto the verge of science fiction with a set of catchy and cerebral tunes that early listeners have called “cream-of-the-crop bedroom pop.”

    In 2010 Jascha released his dream-driven debut A Cure for Sleep, whose “deceptively simple, deeply weird pop songs” earned comparisons to Regina Spektor, Sufjan Stevens, and Leonard Cohen. An animated video from the record went viral on Boing Boing.

    With the The Future Limited, Jascha returns with stories about love, death and time. Working closely with meticulous Brooklyn producer Leo Sidran, he has produced tightly crafted songs whose videos reveal their science-fiction themes:

    • “Limited,” a synth-pop tune about a lonely computer, uses a mash-up of footage drawn from classic sci-fi films. (dir. John Pavlus)

    • “The Future”, an epic ballad of time travel and lost love, retells the myth of Orpheus and Eurydice in Central Park. (dir. Naftali Beane Rutter)

    • ”I Need You Tiny,” a tongue-in-cheek anthem, with green-screen appearance by Rachel Zevita of American Idol. (dir. Jonathan Mann)

    Since cutting the album Jascha has composed a song cycle based on recent obituaries, which he will record this spring. He is also working on original translations of Brazilian pop music.

    • National press campaign

    • SF release at Viracocha (3/4)

    • NYC release at Rockwood Music Hall (3/14)

    • “Limited” video release on Feb 21; “The Future” on Feb 28

    • Artist website: jaschamusic.com

    • Contact for booking and press: jascha@jaschahoffman.com.